Ground Water Canada

Features Associations Business
Canadians serve on IAH council

January 12, 2017  By Ground Water Canada

Goring/Reading, UK – The current Council of International Association of Hydrogeologists was elected at the General Assembly in Montpellier, France, last fall, among them two Canadians.

Joanne Thompson, Senior Group Leader of Development Hydrogeology with RJ Burnside & Associates Limited in Newmarket, Ont., was elected vice-president for North America, Canada. Past president Ken Howard, noted hydrogeologist and author from Toronto, continues to sit on the council.

Its members are listed below.


Antonio Chambel
IAH President, Portugal

Prof. Ken Howard
Past President, Canada

Prof. Bruce Misstear
Secretary General, Ireland

Dr Teodora Szocs
Vice President – Finance and Membership, Hungary

Prof. David Kreamer
Vice President – Science and Programme, USA

Prof. Makoto Taniguchi
Vice President – Asia, Japan

Dr Wendy Timms
Vice President – Australasia and the Pacific, Australia

Natalia Vinograd
Vice President – Eastern Europe and Central Asia, Russia

Marco Petitta
Vice President – Europe (West and Central), Italy

Carlos Molano
Vice President – Latin America and the Caribbean, Colombia

Ahmed Fekri
Vice President – Middle East and North Africa, Morocco

Joanne Thompson
Vice President – North America, Canada

Callist Tindimugaya
Vice President – Sub Saharan Africa, Uganda

Print this page


Stories continue below