Ground Water Canada

Features Education Research
Free NGWA water well owner webinars begin Aug. 9


July 14, 2016
By Ground Water Canada

Topics

Westerville, OH – Private water well owners, and local officials involved with well owners, are invited to view a series of free one-hour webinars offered by the National Ground Water Association.

The first webinar in the series discusses water well disinfection and takes place Aug. 9 at 1 p.m. ET (12 p.m. CT, 11 a.m. MT, 10 a.m. PT).

Water well disinfection expert Michael Schnieders, PG, PH-GW, principal hydrogeologist and president of Water Systems Engineering Inc. in Ottawa, Kansas, will be presenting the webinar, the National Ground Water Association said in a news release.

Advertisment

Those interested may register here.

Properly constructed and maintained water well systems are designed to keep disease-causing micro-organisms such as bacteria, viruses, and protozoa from getting inside the well system and into the water, the release said. This webinar explores how these microorganisms can get into well water and when water well disinfection is appropriate.

The webinar also examines proper well disinfection, how disinfection may be done improperly, and helps well owners understand when action beyond water well disinfection is indicated.

Several other webinars are available in August, including Water well cleaning on Aug. 16 Water well inspections on Aug. 25 and Addressing lead in drinking water on Aug. 30.