Ground Water Canada

McQueen new chair of Ont. WaterTAP board

October 5, 2018  By Ground Water Canada

Toronto – Tanja McQueen has been elected chair of the Water Technology Acceleration Project (WaterTAP) board of directors.

McQueen, MBA, ICD.D, succeeds Rick VanSant, ICD.D, who remains an active director and becomes vice-chair.

McQueen joined the Board in 2016, drawing on experience in business leadership and organizational change with private sector, public sector, and not-for-profit roles, WaterTAP said in a news release. She is an ICD.D certified Board Director and has been actively engaged in WaterTAP’s Board as both a member and committee chair.


The board also welcomes four new directors: Helge Daebel, Paul Gibson, Rita Theil and John Walker. Together with five incumbent Directors, they will guide the organization in its mandate to promote and strengthen Ontario’s water sector.

“We are delighted to welcome Helge, Paul, Rita, and John to the Board,” McQueen said. “They represent a broad spectrum of private and public-sector experience. They will help guide WaterTAP’s mandate to connect Ontario’s water technology companies to resources that accelerate their commercialization, market adoption, and growth.”

Directors Erin Mahoney and John Braam have retired from the Board. “We sincerely thank Rick, Erin, and John for their valuable contributions to WaterTAP’s governance, and the work they have done to advance WaterTAP’s strategy, profile and results,” McQueen said.

The new Directors will assume their Board duties immediately. Full biographies for all Directors are available at

The Water Technology Acceleration Project (WaterTAP) was established in 2010 as part of Ontario’s Water Opportunities Act. WaterTAP brings a diverse set of experience and guidance to helping water industry entrepreneurs gain access to the resources they need to successfully commercialize their products and services and grow their businesses.

Print this page


Stories continue below