Ground Water Canada

News Associations Business Success Stories
National Ground Water Association Announces 2021 Industry Award Winners

Each year winners are recognized as industry champions and groundwater advocates

August 24, 2021  By Ground Water Canada

Westerville, Ohio – The National Ground Water Association congratulates the recipients of its 2021 Awards of Excellence, Outstanding Groundwater Project Awards, Sectional Awards, and NGWA Fellow designation, which will be presented this December during Groundwater Week in Nashville.

Longtime NGWA member Art Becker, CPG, MGWC,NGWAF, is the recipient of NGWA’s most prestigious award, the Ross L. Oliver Award for outstanding contributions to the groundwater industry. Becker is president of Drilling and Safety Consultants LLC in Barnegat, New Jersey.

Additional 2021 NGWA award recipients follow.


Awards of Excellence

  • Otto Strack, Ph.D., of the University of Minnesota — M. King Hubbert Award
  • Robert Sterrett, Ph.D., of RJS Consulting Inc. in Golden, Colorado — Special Recognition Award
  • David Kill, PE, (retired) formerly of Goulds Water Technology — Robert Storm Intersectional Cooperation Award
  • Josh Clapper of NAPCO Pipe & Fittings in Wayne, Pennsylvania — Equipment Design Award
  • Neil Mansuy (posthumously) of Subsurface Technologies in Rock Tavern, New York — Technology Award
  • Ronnie Hensley (retired) formerly of Gicon Pumps and Equipment Ltd. and James Doesburg of Ellingson DTD in Bremerton, Washington — Life Member Awards
  • John Carper, U.S Senator, Delaware — Groundwater Protector Award
  • Robert P. Schreiber, PE, BCEE, D.WRE, of CDM Smith — Standard Bearer Award

NGWA Fellow Designation

Richard Thron, MGWC, of Mantyla Well Drilling Inc in Lakeland, Minnesota

Sectional Awards

  • Jim Hartmann of Franklin Electric — Manufacturers Section Special Recognition Award
  • Erica DiFilippo, Ph.D., of S.S. Papadopoulos & Associates in Rockville, Maryland — Keith E. Anderson Award
  • Norman Jones, Ph.D., of Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah — John Hem Award for Excellence in Science & Engineering
  • Conrad Massey of CMC Supply Inc. in Macon, Georgia — Supplier of the Year Award

Outstanding Groundwater Project Awards

  • CDM Smith — Suffolk County Department of Health Services: Subwatersheds Wastewater Plan & Generic Environmental Impact Statement — Groundwater Protection Project Award
  • Woodard & Curran Inc. — Beede Site Group: Utilizing Groundwater Remediation to Drive Water Conservation, Sustainability, and Support of Area Wildlife Habitat Corridors — Groundwater Remediation Project Award (large-scale)
  • H2M architects + engineers — Long Island Water Districts: AOP Treatment for 1,4-Dioxane in Long Island Groundwater — Groundwater Remediation Project Award (small-scale)

Print this page


Stories continue below