Ground Water Canada

Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize nominations closed

December 20, 2011  By Administrator

December 20, 2011, Singapore – A total of 61 nominations from five continents were submitted for the 2012 Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize.

The award launched in 2008 to honour outstanding contributions by individuals or organizations involved in solving the world's water problems by applying innovative technologies or implementing policies and programs that will benefit humanity. This international award is named after Singapore's former Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, who championed the country's water sustainability efforts.

This year's nominations cover a wide range of solutions including technologies harnessing solar power for water treatment, implementation of water policies and programs, management of agriculture waters and rain water as well as the administration of sustainable humanitarian projects in cities.


The nominations also include research projects conducted in the fields of limnology, water quality and health, and membrane processes.

Nominees for the 2012 prize will undergo two rounds of rigorous selection. The winner will be decided by a prize council made up of individuals from academia, mutlinational corporations and government bodies. The council is chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean, chairman of Singapore's National Research Foundation.

The recipient of the 2012 award will be announced in March 2012 and honoured at a ceremony held during Singapore International Water Week in July. The recipient will receive S$300,000, as well as an award certificate and a gold medallion in recognition of his/her contributions to the water industry.

Print this page


Stories continue below