Ground Water Canada

Features Geothermal
NGWA honours industry award winners

September 30, 2011  By Administrator

September 30, 2011, Westerville, OH – The National Ground Water Association (NGWA) has announced the winners of its annual industry awards. 

Former NGWA president Lloyd Watson was named this year’s recipient of the Ross L. Oliver Award for outstanding contributions to the ground water industry. Watson, who was president of the NGWA in 2007, is president of his own drilling contracting firm, Watson Co. Inc., in Lascassas, Tennessee.

Other 2011 NGWA award recipients include: 

Awards of Excellence

  • M. King Hubbert Award – Craig M. Bethke, Ph.D., the R.E. Grim Professor at the University of Illinois for major science contributions to the knowledge of ground water
  • Robert Storm Interdivisional Co-operation Award – Beverly L. Herzog, CGWP, retired assistant to the director for environmental initiatives, Illinois Geological Survey 
  • Life Member Awards – William Dauksza, Barmore Pump and Electric Co., Congers, New York; James W. Goeke, emeritus professor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, School of Natural Resources, Conservation and Survey Division; Lee Orton, executive director, Nebraska Well Drillers Association; Bill C. Stoner, Stoner Drilling Inc., Corsicana, Tex.; and Charlie Waller, CPI, Uvalde Pump Service, Uvalde, Tex.

  • Honourary Member Award
    – Lloyd Duplantis, Haiti Mission Inc., Thibodaux, La. 
  • Technology Award – Mark L. Kram Ph.D., Groundswell Technologies, Santa Barbara, Ca.
  • Standard Bearer Award – David M. Kelly, CWD/PI, Jones Well Drilling Inc., Jarrettsville, Md.
  • Ground Water Protector Award – U.S. Senator Herb Kohl (D-Wis.) 

Divisional Awards

  • Manufacturers Division Special Recognition Award – Robert J. Stone, senior vice-president of Franklin Electric, Bluffton, Ind., and president of Franklin’s Americas Water Systems Group 
  • Keith E. Anderson Award – Paul C. Johnson, Ph.D., of the University of Arizona and editor of NGWA’s Ground Water Monitoring & Remediation for outstanding contributions to NGWA’s Scientists and Engineers division

  • John Hem Excellence in Science & Engineering Award
    – Jiu Jimmy Jiao, Ph.D., University of Hong Kong for significant scientific or engineering contributions to the understanding of ground water

Outstanding Ground Water Project Awards

  • Ground Water Supply Award – Daniel B. Stephens & Associates Inc., Albuquerque, N.M. 

  • Ground Water Protection Award
    – Water Replenishment District of Southern California 
  • Ground Water Remediation Award – AMEC, Amherst, N.Y. 

Congratulations to all award winners.

Print this page


Stories continue below